Cabbage & Potato Gratin

The CSA delivery this week contained, among other things, a big, bright green napa cabbage. Slightly overwhelmed by the seemingly vast quantities of various greens in the fridge, I turned to Deborah Madison’s Local Flavors, a book that my mom got me a while back and that I liked just fine at the time, but that has become a beloved daily reference for me since the onset of CSA season.

In it, I found a recipe for cabbage and potato gratin with sage. Sounded good. I picked up some gorgeous little yukon golds at the greenmarket and got to cooking. I changed the recipe slightly in that it called for savoy cabbage and I used napa, and it called for 3 eggs and I did not have them, so I made a roux instead and threw in a little wine for good measure, and I tripled the garlic, because I do not understand recipes that call for one clove of garlic, and I used super aged gouda instead of parmesan, because I had some that was on the verge of getting crusty. Lastly, I sprinkled some cheddar and bread crumbs on top, because a crispy, cheesy topping makes any savory baked dish better. You know it’s true.

I didn’t snap any photos of the process, even though I thought the various shades of greens and the creamy potatoes were lovely. I didn’t take any pictures, because I did not anticipate this dish being worthy of documentation or anywhere near as good as it was: comforting, savory, not too heavy, a complete meal in one big pan. You should make a cabbage and potato gratin at your earliest opportunity. Rustle up your favorite potato gratin recipe and swap out half the taters for cabbage cut into inch wide ribbons and parboiled and gently wrung out. Find a way to work in some sage and garlic cooked in butter. You will be handsomely rewarded for your efforts.

Now off to bottle up that cream ale. It is long overdue…

2 responses to “Cabbage & Potato Gratin

  1. Mmmm … amazingly enough I also happen to have a head of cabbage this week. This recipe sounds so delicious I might make it for breakfast tomorrow morning.

    Yum, yum, yum.

    • It did occur to me that it would be great as leftovers with a sunny side up or over-super-easy egg. That sounds like a serious breakfast!

Leave a Reply

